By the title, I didn't mean I have major problems...
I meant I've been having "Major" problems, meaning I've had a pretty hard
time deciding what I want to major in. I'm still not 100% sure to be honest.
But I've been really looking into things and trying to figure out.
People say, "Oh don't stress too much about it, you've got time" Um... not really, no I don't.
I don't want to stress and take all of these classes that in the end I didn't even need.
So, I've now met with different advisers from different departments that I've been interested in.
Nursing has been on my mind a lot. I thought that was it, I was going to push myself past my
limit and get that nursing degree because it's such a great job to have.
But then suddenly, this other major option has been coming up a lot.
Family Life- with maybe an emphasis in Human Development or just Family.
I know that career options for this major aren't very broad, unless you get a Masters degree.
Who knows- maybe I'll end up in Grad School someday.
I'm currently taking an SFL100 class "Strengthening Marriage and Family" and I love it.
I love learning about families, patterns, how to deal with common problems in the family, etc.
I find it very helpful and so interesting. It covers so many things and I just love it.
The program is a lot shorter than Nursing, and it could easily lead to nursing eventually, if I choose to.
This morning, I made an appointment to talk with a Nursing counselor and to be honest,
I didn't feel that good about it after. I was told that my GPA is way too low, that I would need to just take
classes to boost my overall GPAwhich would take about 2 major semesters and a term. At least.
And then I can maybe apply to the program to be considered. I said "Ok, I can do that".
Then I realized I'd have to keep about an A average all the time to be considered competitive.
Which I could try and accomplish, but the classes are anatomy, chemistry, organic chemistry, etc.
People, let me just tell you I am sucky in these subjects (pardon my language).
So I could push and practically kill myself with stress and anxiety trying to get A's in all of these classes
plus even more classes like this for the next 2 years of my life, apply for the program, and not get in?
Then have to retake those classes and try and boost my GPA even more.
Or if I was accepted, the program is three years and the classes are similar plus I would have to have experience at hospitals, which is completely fine with me.
But I've heard from many people, surprisingly, that a lot of BYU nursing graduates aren't getting jobs very easily due to the program. It is very "textbook" concentrated, if that makes sense.
So social skills are lacking, and common knowledge of how to act is not very high on their list.
(I'm not making this up, there is an article about it, and I've heard from so many people that this is the case)
But the reality is, I don't exactly have very much interest in any of these classes. So what do I do?
Now, with Family Life, the program is shorter, and interests me with the classes.
I'd enjoy my college career. I could graduate faster, and if I ever have to move, I won't be tied down to one place for the next 6 years of my life. Which is comforting to me.
But as I spoke to the advisement desk, they told me that they had been having the exact discussion earlier that day. There was a girl who worked there that was in the exact position as me.
This major can actually lead to nursing. What a lot of jobs are concerned about is it you have a degree.
Even nursing jobs look for degrees in anything to be honest.
If I graduate from this program, I would have a degree, and if I still wanted to pursue nursing,
I could apply to a nursing school or even the nursing department at BYU
(I don't think I would apply to BYU to be honest).
Then the nursing program at a "specified" school is much more direct and all-around.
Plus, it would on average only be 2 years.
So the amount of time I would be in school is the same, but I'd be a lot more "free" in Family Life.
And who knows, maybe in a couple years,
I'll find a really good, stable job and I don't want to do nursing anymore.
If only we could tell the future. Wouldn't that be nice? hah.
I guess I'm just really excited to feel this good about a major, finally.
I signed up for a meeting on Monday to find more out about it before I make any decisions, but
I feel good. I feel good.
No comments:
Post a Comment