Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Learning


Biology, actually Science in general, has never been my forte. 
I'm currently taking a Bio class and honestly, I'm learning so much.
The sad thing is that I've learned all of this stuff multiple times before in middle school and high school, and I never understood it. So I always had a hard time in my science classes.

Science just has never really stuck in my brain, or I'm just stupid.
Cells, enzymes, Mitosis, Meiosis, mutations, etc. have NEVER made sense to me.
I guess it is because I've never really cared to understand it. 
Just never has interested me in the slightest.

But lately, and I don't know if it is because I am now in college or what, but it's like a little light bulb just clicked on in my head. 
HALLELUJAH!
Everything that my professor talks about (well not everything...I wish) makes sense, and I am connecting the dots to everything I have ever learned relating to this subject.
For example, I read about mutations in the cells and DNA, such as down syndrome and other things, 
and I've never truly known what causes it or what exactly it is.
I've never grasped the concept of cell division (mitosis and meiosis), but now 
that I've been reading, listening in class, and studying it, I actually understand it and I've even memorized some stuff.

You probably don't give a crap about what I'm rambling about right now,
it's just been on my mind a lot today. I just feel so blessed to be receiving this education, and so happy I'm no longer in high school.
In high school, I didn't really care to learn anymore. Not that it wasn't a blast, because it definitely was,
it just started to become so repetitive after four years.

I guess I am just really happy that I am learning new things.
Even as I was at the gym tonight, I started telling Madison how our bodies can't fully break down fiber.
It's the bacteria in our stomachs that break it down.
That's why it does what it does, if you know what I mean. If you've ever downed one of those delicious Fiber 1 bars, you probably are getting what I'm saying.
I just find so much of it so interesting.

Another thing I'm learning about is genetic processes. "Crossing over" during meiosis (the division of cells in the sex organs to produce gametes) is how we get the genes we have. Our eye color, height, hair color, etc. The tips of the chromosomes transfer information in the beginning of the division process.
Isn't that such an interesting subject?
To learn how and why we were given the traits we have from our parents.

Anyway, I'm sure you seriously couldn't care less to read about my biology class. Sorry, I was on a roll. And I might add, I typed that all from memory, which I'm proud of myself for because I usually suck with this whole science thing.

One more thing before I quit for the night...
I just want to put out there that I think that languages are truly amazing.
If you really sit and think about languages, doesn't it just blow your mind?
People making sounds forming into words, or even just hand movements to express what is going on in their heads, and others completely understanding. Honestly, you can't say that's not pretty crazy.


This is technically my fourth year of learning sign language.
I love it.
It's so easy for me, and I find it fascinating and so much more expressive.
 Is it weird that I almost wish I had a deaf friend to sign to, just so I can use the language outside of a classroom?
Hand movements, motions, and facial expression make up the entire language.
My teacher's name is Suzi Holland and she is completely deaf.
I absolutely adore her. She is truly the cutest, sweetest and funniest lady.
I love to watch her sign b/c she is so easy for me to understand.
I could watch her for hours.
I remember my sophomore year of high school was the first time I'd taken an ASL class.
I remember thinking to myself, "I can't wait until I can just sign everything and understand what people are saying when they are in a conversation."
I'm now at that point, and I'm definitely not saying I'm completely fluent, because I'm not.
I have much more work to do and much more practicing before I can say I'm fluent.
But I understand it, I know how to carry on a conversation.
I just love the language. It's one of a kind, that's for sure.
Anywho, just thought I would put my thoughts out there.
Hope I didn't bore you too much :)

P.S- Did you know that birds are actually REPTILES? I didn't know that until yesterday... so weird.


2 comments:

  1. Loved this post. For a few reasons. 1. B/c it reminded me of how much I loved college! 2. b/c I love seeing you transform into a genius and 3. b/c I think you have found what you should major in...either sign language or something in science...maybe you should major in science and minor in sign language! Just a thought! (what would be REALLY awesome is if you were a nurse/doctor who worked with deaf people) now I'm on a roll! :-) Something to think about my smarty pants sister! xoxoxoxo

    p.s. I need you to email/text me your address thanx

    ReplyDelete
  2. Haha thanks Aarean. Yeah I do find science interesting, buttttt... I still would never wanna major in it. I don't love it, I just think it's interesting. I finally have decided kind of what I wanna do. Sign language or something with animals. Idk. I'll figure it out. But thanks for the interest in my life :)

    ReplyDelete