Monday, October 31, 2011

Mr. Peacock?

I just wanted to share something that brightened my day. 
I'm sitting on a computer in the library & this guy walks past me and I couldn't help but admire 
his Halloween spirit. Awesome outfit, even though I don't really get 
how his scary painted face goes with the rest of his costume.
Happy Halloween everyone!


 


Sunday, October 30, 2011

Hallow's Weekend

I know that actual Halloween hasn't even happened yet, but really the entire
weekend is a celebration with dressing up and having fun.
On Friday night, Alpine Village had a party in their underground parking.
I dressed as the Black Swan, Madison dressed as an 80's rocker, and Paige was a dead girl in a nightgown.
The next night, my best friend came down form Idaho and all of us went to some backyard party.
Madison & I loved destroying our faces with blood and scar puddy. Dead people are always fun to dress up as.







This is the disgusting scar on my cheek


 And this is Madison's "slit" throat. Gross.




Friday, October 28, 2011

Random

Do you know what this means? This means that for Winter semester
I'm now officially enrolled in American Heritage at BYU.
(GULP).
I'm not a very big history person, never been good at it.
Pray for me...please? haha
I've yet to be seriously stressed out by school yet. Sadly, the time has come.
This coming week is going to be very stressful, dangett. 
It will include a Sign Language presentation, my next Bio test and study sessions, and starting my first college research paper.

On a good note- My sister suggested that I get Gel nails, so I did. I love them.
My nails are usually very weak, but now they're stronger and I know this picture sucks,
but the color is a really pretty, sparkly silver.
*This weekend (Monday included) is Halloween weekend. I'm excited. 





Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Spic & Span

So I live in the Wyview Dorms in Provo and I do love my place.
But holy crap people, I currently feel like I'm living on a cleaning military base.
We had a "surprise" cleaning check last weekend, failed.
So last night we found out we were having a recheck around 9:15, so my roommates and I got at it.
 We cleaned everything, including the walls. Literally.
We all felt pretty confident that we would pass, our place was spotless.
I left to get my nails done with my sister and when I came home they told me that I failed the test. Again.
Are you kidding...?!
 Now I have to go talk to my R.A and see what exact speckle of dust I'm missing.
If there even is a speckle of dust in my apt. right now.

I know it's kind of weird that I'm posting pictures of my place, but I'm just trying to show that everything is clean. Except the clothes hanging on the back of my chair
(it's the outfit I picked out to wear the next day, so just know it's not clutter).
It is seriously clean, I don't know what they want from me.


Urban Giveaway

 My sister Aarean posted a giveaway for Urban Outfitters. 
They are giving away a
stylish shredded scarf, yes yes yes.

Monday, October 24, 2011

Senses

Today is Monday. Meaning today is the day where I state one thing I am thankful for.
I'm very thankful for my senses.

Sight- It's the Fall, and I am loving the colors outside. The mountains, the trees, everything.
Imagine a world where you couldn't see anything. I truly sympathize for the blind because
this world is just beautiful.
Taste- I don't know about you guys, but if I couldn't taste anything, I would be miserable. 
I love food. The variety, the flavors. There are so many different options out there when it comes to food and I love and appreciate all of them.
Smell- I don't have the best nose out there, but I would be so sad if I couldn't smell anymore. 
There is nothing like walking into my house in CA and smelling the delicious dinner being made by the best mom in the world. Yeah, that's my mom, sorry to burst your bubble.
In the mornings when I pick out what lotion or perfume I want to wear for the day, I love smelling my options. Plus I love it when people just smell good. I can't help but just hug Madison all the time when is wearing a nice cologne. 
How about when it barely rains outside, and the "steam" rising from the concrete leaving the best smell ever. The scent of fresh rain, it just warms my heart I tell ya.
 I love the smell of gasoline. Love love love it. If they had a gas air freshener, I'd be ALL over it.
Touch- Imagine never being touched. Never feeling the hot water from the shower after a long day,
or getting into fresh sheets and cuddling up in that soft, warm blanket. A cool breeze.
Never feeling the touch of a loved one. A hug or warm embrace, a handshake, a kiss.
I'd go crazy without feeling this sense.
Hearing- Oh man oh man. I can definitely say I have serious gratitude for this sense. I've been sick with some kind of sinus infection recently, and I woke up this morning with "clogged ears".
I literally can barely hear anything out of my left ear. It sucks. 
I feel like I'm underwater and can't hear even half as good as I usually do.
When my professors give their lectures, I'm practically lipreading.
This may be a slight exaggeration, but hey, it's how I feel at the moment.
As I was leaving for school, my roommate Jane says "Hey at least sign language will be easier."
Yeah, I guess so. Thanks Jane for making me look at the glass half-full. 
Also, my world would never be the same without music.

We have been given so much. Using our senses to really live is a gift from God. There are people out there that don't get to experience this world the way we do. I truly can say "my cup runneth over".














Sunday, October 23, 2011

Can't Wait

Thanksgiving... Please come faster! I can't wait any longer.
I want to be with my family. I miss them. A lot.
That's all.

Friday, October 21, 2011

Colorful Canyon

Yesterday, in the early afternoon, Madison and I decided that we would
take a little drive through the canyon to see the leaves changing colors. 
Since our working schedules are so opposite,
this was our little bit of time to finally do it before the leaves are gone.
I'm so happy we did it because it was so BEAUTIFUL.
Warning: be prepared for quite a few pictures, I just couldn't stop myself.



  
So here was our mini trip. 
We were lucky enough to get away from reality for 45 minutes. 
Concentrating on the beauty of nature, some nice country music, and light conversations with one of my favorite people on this earth. I'm VERY blessed.



Monday, October 17, 2011

Escape

I think it is necessary to have something that you love to escape to once in a while.
There is one thing that I can always escape from the world to.
Music

There are certain songs that just get me. Here are some examples:
 Good Life- One Republic

I don't know what it is about this song, but I NEVER get sick of it.
If I had to pick one song to listen to for the rest of my life, I'm fairly sure it would be this song.
It makes me happy. I always tell Madison, this song is my "theme song" haha

Look After You- The Fray

The reason I love this song is because it reminds me of when I was younger, I used to always listen to it. Love it.

Welcome Home Son- Radical Face

My best friend Lauren Hailey showed me this song a long time ago, and I love everything about it. It has such a unique sound, and it's the best when you're driving with the windows down. Try it :)

Please Don't Go- Barcelona
 http://youtu.be/AJtHg9FbLUA

My sister Rachael posted this video of an aquarium 2 years ago on her blog.
The second I watched it, I thought it was the coolest thing. I don't know why.
Ever since then, going to this aquarium has been on my bucket list of places to go.
But the song is such a beautiful song and adds so much to the video.
There are so many more songs that I love escaping to, but that would take forever to name them all. 
So here are just a few, hope you enjoyed.




Gratitude

 Once a week, I'm going to post about something I am grateful for.
This week, I'm especially thankful for my sister Paige.
All throughout high school, I was the only kid at home and this is the first time in over 4 years that I have lived in the same city as one of my sisters.
Why I'm thankful for Paige Cierra Clegg:
 
(an old picture, sorry)
  • She is so thoughtful and loving
  • She never fails to make me laugh
  • She always makes me delicious drinks from her work
  • I love to visit her while she is working, and just chat with her
  • She always makes sure I am okay financially, emotionally, etc.
  • She makes me delicious dinners
  • She's my best girlfriend I have here, and I just love her
So if you're reading this Paige, thank you for everything. 
I'm very grateful to have you here with me and I love ya.



Slightly Creepy

I imagine this is what my face looked like at 7:00am this morning.
My alarm was set for 7:43, and I was supposed to be sound asleep in my cozy bed until then.
Well, at exactly 7:00, I woke up as if someone said my name, you know, my eyes kinda shot open.
I'm sure we've all had similar experiences, when you wake up really quick and you get this 
"hair-raising on the back of your neck" feeling.
My room was pitch black besides my clock, which was strange because it was morning, maybe it's because it is becoming Winter?
Anywho, I sat there, frozen with this stupid knot in my stomach,
and I hear this somewhat creepy piano song playing.
(My roommates and I have a keyboard in our apartment), so I thought, who the their right mind would be playing the piano this early, when it's still dark out!
Then I realized that the song was too legit to be coming from our little keyboard.
Maybe it was my neighbors? Something was wrong, I could just feel it.
I got out of bed and slowly creaked my door open, and poked my little bed-hair head out my door.
No one was there, so I tiptoed down my hallway and into my living room/ kitchen.
I found where the music was coming from. Someone's ipod was plugged into our little stereo in the kitchen, and the screen was lit, and this stupid piano song was playing the the speakers.
I knew it hadn't been on all night because I was the one who turned off the lights before bed.
I quickly turned it off and tried to confidently walk back to my room (I ended up basically sprinting).
I had a hard time falling back asleep because I had all of these creepy thoughts running through my mind. But 10 minutes after I finally drifted off, my alarm started screaming at me. 
How weird is that? It was like Paranormal Activity, yikes.




 




Thursday, October 13, 2011

Moonlight Lift

Last night I went with a small group of people to Sundance around 9:30p.m
Even though it was pretty darn cold, and the line was forever long, riding on the ski lift
For 45 mims was so relaxing and so worth the wait.
I even got to see two deer, which I think is pretty cool.

Not to sound cheesy, but as I was looking at the stars, I started thinking about how crazy
It is that there are other worlds out there. Other people.
There are millions and billions of more stars then there are grains of sand on this entire earth (including in the seas).
Tell me that doesn't blow your mind...
We are just the tiniest little spec of a spec in the universe, but each individual
Is known, loved, and charished by God.
Just a small thought that may brighten your day.

Monday, October 10, 2011

California Wimp

My entire life I have lived in Southern CA, until now.
I have been blessed with warm weather in basically every season.
I've never had a "white Christmas", and winter to me means some clouds and maybe some rain.
But I can say I really do love the cold. Why?
  •  Get to dress in such cute, stylish clothes
  • I love walking into a warm house when you've been in the freezing air
  • Cold time of the year = Holidays which make me giddy
  •  Hot baths and hot chocolate
  • Now I can say, snow :)
I think I can handle the cold weather, but hey I'm just a newbie.
Lately, especially at night, it gets so cold outside.
So, naturally, I wear a lot of warm clothing when I go out.
My roommates, Jane & Ari, make fun of me saying,"You want some ski pants to wear too?"
Because apparently I look like I'm dressing for negative degree weather.
Which is kind of what it feels like?!


As I was going to the game on Saturday night, I warned them that they would feel dumb because they were going to be freezing during the game and I was going to be warm with my beanie, gloves and all. 
And I wasn't going to feel one bit bad for them.
Well, I actually ended up leaving the game at the end of the 3rd quarter, because it wasn't the most exciting game ever, and... I was SO cold.
As you can see in the picture, my cousin Cassidi lended me her warm, blue snuggie for a little while.
Anyway, by the time I walked home, I was slightly shivering. Just slightly.
 But don't worry, I drove to a gas station to get myself some nice HOT chocolate.


Later on I asked Ari if she got cold at the game.
She laughed and made a point that that night wasn't even bad.
Uh oh.
I guess my roommates are right, I am going to be the biggest wimp when the real winter rolls around.
I can't help it, I've always been a California girl who could get away with wearing t-shirts in the "winter".
Still, I love the cold.
Hopefully I can still say the this when Spring arrives.






Friday, October 7, 2011

The Good & the Bad

The Positives of October 6, 2011:
- got a job at Texas Roadhouse as a hostess! yessssss
- It was my first real, somewhat bitter cold day which kind of excites me (I know you think I'm crazy)
-umm... it snowed! especially on the mountains. So pretty.
-my apartment finally got the vacuum from our building R.A, and let me just say I have never in my life been so grateful to vacuum
(these are my positives of the day)


The Negatives of October 6, 2011:
-Remember how in an earlier post, I said I finally was understanding Biology?
 Yeahh... nope. I was wrong. definitely wrong.
I've been studying a lot for this first big test I had to take today. 
I thought I was comfortable with everything, even when I took the test, I thought I was alright.
Then I saw the scores on the TV with my student number.
Let's just say I flunked it. Literally.
Gosh Dangett.
-I was reaffirmed in the fact that I have not improved as a test-taker. I still suck.
At least I have my sweet mom to cheer me up with her comforting words.
(If you read this Mom, thanks and I miss you lots)





Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Football Games


Every weekend I've been going to a football game.
Which has been so much fun, especially when we WIN :)
For all you cougar fans out there, I know we can all sadly admit that our football team isn't exactly 
"Rose Bowl" material.
But hey, winning isn't everything, right? But it definitely makes everything better.

Anyways, I just love the sports atmosphere. Any time I go to a stadium to watch a game whether it be baseball, football, soccer, etc, it's so fun and exciting.
The lights, the crowds, and the gross but delicious food.
Yup, it's always a good time. Unless your team seriously sucks.

Well the last game was a good one. BYU vs. Utah State.
The crowd was pretty crazy, finally they put a new QB in the game (no offense J. Heaps),
and what do ya know, we won.


Here are some recent pictures from the past couple of football games.

These are my two beautiful cousins Ashlynn & Cassidi.




We were pretty excited about winning this one, as you can see
 

  I have a sports pass with all of these lovely people, 
so every game I know I'm going to have a good time.








Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Learning


Biology, actually Science in general, has never been my forte. 
I'm currently taking a Bio class and honestly, I'm learning so much.
The sad thing is that I've learned all of this stuff multiple times before in middle school and high school, and I never understood it. So I always had a hard time in my science classes.

Science just has never really stuck in my brain, or I'm just stupid.
Cells, enzymes, Mitosis, Meiosis, mutations, etc. have NEVER made sense to me.
I guess it is because I've never really cared to understand it. 
Just never has interested me in the slightest.

But lately, and I don't know if it is because I am now in college or what, but it's like a little light bulb just clicked on in my head. 
HALLELUJAH!
Everything that my professor talks about (well not everything...I wish) makes sense, and I am connecting the dots to everything I have ever learned relating to this subject.
For example, I read about mutations in the cells and DNA, such as down syndrome and other things, 
and I've never truly known what causes it or what exactly it is.
I've never grasped the concept of cell division (mitosis and meiosis), but now 
that I've been reading, listening in class, and studying it, I actually understand it and I've even memorized some stuff.

You probably don't give a crap about what I'm rambling about right now,
it's just been on my mind a lot today. I just feel so blessed to be receiving this education, and so happy I'm no longer in high school.
In high school, I didn't really care to learn anymore. Not that it wasn't a blast, because it definitely was,
it just started to become so repetitive after four years.

I guess I am just really happy that I am learning new things.
Even as I was at the gym tonight, I started telling Madison how our bodies can't fully break down fiber.
It's the bacteria in our stomachs that break it down.
That's why it does what it does, if you know what I mean. If you've ever downed one of those delicious Fiber 1 bars, you probably are getting what I'm saying.
I just find so much of it so interesting.

Another thing I'm learning about is genetic processes. "Crossing over" during meiosis (the division of cells in the sex organs to produce gametes) is how we get the genes we have. Our eye color, height, hair color, etc. The tips of the chromosomes transfer information in the beginning of the division process.
Isn't that such an interesting subject?
To learn how and why we were given the traits we have from our parents.

Anyway, I'm sure you seriously couldn't care less to read about my biology class. Sorry, I was on a roll. And I might add, I typed that all from memory, which I'm proud of myself for because I usually suck with this whole science thing.

One more thing before I quit for the night...
I just want to put out there that I think that languages are truly amazing.
If you really sit and think about languages, doesn't it just blow your mind?
People making sounds forming into words, or even just hand movements to express what is going on in their heads, and others completely understanding. Honestly, you can't say that's not pretty crazy.


This is technically my fourth year of learning sign language.
I love it.
It's so easy for me, and I find it fascinating and so much more expressive.
 Is it weird that I almost wish I had a deaf friend to sign to, just so I can use the language outside of a classroom?
Hand movements, motions, and facial expression make up the entire language.
My teacher's name is Suzi Holland and she is completely deaf.
I absolutely adore her. She is truly the cutest, sweetest and funniest lady.
I love to watch her sign b/c she is so easy for me to understand.
I could watch her for hours.
I remember my sophomore year of high school was the first time I'd taken an ASL class.
I remember thinking to myself, "I can't wait until I can just sign everything and understand what people are saying when they are in a conversation."
I'm now at that point, and I'm definitely not saying I'm completely fluent, because I'm not.
I have much more work to do and much more practicing before I can say I'm fluent.
But I understand it, I know how to carry on a conversation.
I just love the language. It's one of a kind, that's for sure.
Anywho, just thought I would put my thoughts out there.
Hope I didn't bore you too much :)

P.S- Did you know that birds are actually REPTILES? I didn't know that until yesterday... so weird.


Monday, October 3, 2011

Babies Babies Babies

I don't know what it is lately, but I just love little kids, especially babies.
Maybe it is their chubby little cheeks or how they seem so interested in the simplest things.

I think the reason I am paying so much attention to them whenever I see them (which isn't too often)
is because I just miss my nieces and nephews so much.
I see my sister's posts about their kids and it just kills me that I have to wait another 2 months before I see them.
I love how every single one of them has their own personality which makes them all so different and so loveable.
Hudson & Reagan
Hudson is such a sweet, adorable little boy. It's so weird that he is already 6 years old. He always has the funniest comments about everything and is always so curious. I  love how he is at the age where he understands everything you say and how he always has something to say back.
Reagan is a doll. She's got this feisty, little attitude which makes her so special and so fun to be around. One thing I will always love about her is her precious voice. It's so high and the way she pronounces her words melts my heart every time. I was talking to my mom on the phone, who is currently babysitting them, and she told me that Reagan had cut her hair off. Apparently it isn't "fixable". I laughed when I heard this just because I can picture this scene so perfectly. 
Sage & Grey
I haven't had the chance to be around Grey too many times,but every time I am around him, I fall in love with his happy, relaxed personality. He is such a tank, even as a baby. I swear the kid is going to be an amazing athlete one day. His little laugh gets me, every time. Always such a happy baby who will go to anyone.
Sagey girl... oh how I miss seeing her chubby, little face every other week. Leaving home for college was a million times harder for me because I was so sad that I wouldn't be able to be around her anymore. I just love the sounds she makes when she is playing. I even love how she adores her mom, Aarean. Even if at times it can be frustrating because I want her to want ME to hold her haha. But she is such a beautiful baby.

I guess I am just missing my family right now A LOT. Especially because I know that all of my nieces and nephews are growing up so fast. Sage will be 1 year old in only a month. Time seriously flies by way too fast. I'm just sad I am missing them growing up. I guess that's life though. Anyway, I just love all these little kiddos. I cannot wait till Thanksgiving to be with everyone. I'm not counting the days or anything...