Thursday, August 30, 2012

U.S.A Today

This post is not meant to show any kind of political viewpoint- just so you know.
It's just my opinion about something I saw on Facebook.

I'll be the first person to admit that I am not the most knowledgeable person when it comes to politics.
I should really do more research, but it's something I have yet to divulge in.
But let me just say one thing- I think we live in such a blessed, beautiful country.
We all have opportunity some way or another in our lives, and a lot of that credit goes to our forefathers.
I logged into my FB, and this picture with a post was the first on my newsfeed.
Out of curiosity, I started reading the comments that people had made.
Now I didn't watch these speeches last night, and this is focusing on Mitt Romney's wife who spoke.
I am LDS, I do believe in my whole heart the importance of family and I
agree with the church's standpoint on family.
I am not against women having jobs or anything of that sort.
But I do believe that the most important "job" you can have on this earth is raising a family.
I believe that is why were put on this earth in the first place.
Back to the FB comments I read- some of them make me so frustrated...
A specific woman was commenting about the speech, saying how she thought Ann was pathetic, etc.
That she knows nothing because all she does is stay at home and clean the dishes and bathe the kids.
Well, she said a lot more harsh things than that.
Since when is being a good mother a bad thing?!
Growing up, my Mom was always a stay-at-home mom. And you know what?
She was always my best friend and always will be- not saying that if she would've worked it 
would've changed that, but she was always taking care of me, loving me, cheering me on,
picking me up from school, watching my soccer games, going to any event where my name was said.
She is the most amazing woman I know, and I will forever have an enormous amount of gravity for what she has done for my family. She never had a huge, successful career. 
That does not make her any less of a woman.
So to sit there and tear someone apart because they made the decision to be the caretaker of the 
household instead of working for some big company is just pathetic and I sympathize for this girl who has such a hardened heart and a closed-mind.
I don't know what Ann Romney spoke about, but tearing her apart for being a Mom and choosing that path is so immature and just wrong. She may not have the degrees or office experience as others who spoke, but she is still an American. She is till in this campaign, and she is still a person.

Obviously- Mitt Romney is LDS, so naturally that puts the spotlight on the church a lot more than usual.
I've heard all the phrases come out about the Mormon religion- and I would be surprised
if I didn't hear people making bad remarks about it.
Another woman commented on that same post saying, 
"How could we support someone who puts a man by the name of Jospeh Smith above Jesus Christ?!"
Let me make one thing very clear- no one, and I mean NO ONE is put above
the Savior in church. The official name of the Mormon religion is
"The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints".
Now- I'm not offended by comments like that because I know what I believe, but why people
think that just confuses me. I see where they come from, since the church does talk about Joseph Smith a lot of the time, but that doesn't mean that we put him above Christ.
All Christian religions believe and love Moses for what he did and how great of a prophet he was.
It is the same for Smith. He was a prophet that restored the church. The Mormon church...
So of course we are grateful for him! He made huge sacrifices and ended up being killed for his beliefs-
so of course it is someone that we love. He was an incredible example in so many ways and 
his story his phenomenal to latter-day saints and if nonmembers were so also 
really study his story with correct documents, it's undeniable that his story is incredible and touching.

Basically- the point I'm trying to make is that citizens of the U.S. need to look at this bigger picture.
I'm not talking about this campaign.
If people are attacking others the way a few of the people who commented on
 that Facebook post did, then what are we
all coming to? We all may have different views religiously, politically,etc.,
but we have one thing in common and that's the fact the we are all
American citizens.
That we are all human beings.

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Unnecessary Belting

Who would've known that for some people, church is the place to truly let their colors shine.
"Colors" meaning talents.
I've had this experience more than once in my life, but today was probably one of the worst.
I'm sitting in church and this interesting young man behind me was ready to
step onto his very tall pedestal for the rest of the audience to see, or in his case, hear...
The organ starts playing, everyone is flipping to the right page in the hymn book,
and this guy is sitting up tall ready for his performance.
So the song begins and this guy (I kid you not) start singing at the top of his lungs.
You know, he really wasn't half-bad, a little pitchy and obnoxious, but it wasn't a horrible voice.
That's beside the point- he was singing to make sure God and all the angels in heaven were sure to hear.
So instantly, my eyes widen and I get a little stiff.
Naturally my friend Lauren and I (who have had a history of 
unstoppable laughter at the most inappropriate times) start to slowly shake with silent laughter.
I'm not kidding- the guy was out of control. I'm all about singing the hymns, but to that point where it's basically echoing off each wall and literally hurting my ears, there's a problem.
In my opinion anyway.
Man, I wish I would've recorded it so I could let you hear.
At first I thought it was hilarious, I had a hard time controlling myself, but then it got super obnoxious.
And very unnecessary. 
So- for all you hymn belters out there, do us all a favor and tone it down a bit.
Please.

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Bee-Sting Bummer

Well folks, my last couple of days here in the good old CA summer has had an interesting end.
Last Saturday, there was a summer storm and I walked outside to look at the lightening 
(which I love and am so looking forward to the Provo storms soon),
and suddenly felt this sting on my foot, thinking I'd just stepped on a tiny sliver or stick I bent to pick it out.
Then the pain increased and as I lifted my foot, I saw a squirming freakin bee stuck between my toes.
Just awesome.
You know, I forget how much those little buggers hurt... b/c they actually really are pretty painful.
My history with bees isn't to great. I'm allergic.
Not the "Oh no, I suddenly can't breathe and I'm dying" allergic, but the 
enormous, disgusting swelling, red, hot, make me feel out-of-it kind.
My sweet dad hurried and put a bunch of mud in a plastic bag, along with ice and 
literally duck-taped the bag around my ankle. Actually, it was pretty funny and his effort was pretty cute.
That night I had to go to wedding, so I was up all night on it... which probably wasn't the smartest decision.
So Sunday rolls around, and it's getting bigger, hotter, stings more, etc.
I ignored my Mom (who was in SF at the time) to go to Urgent care for antibiotics.
Then Monday comes and seriously, it's waking my up from a dead sleep and it's hideously big.
Like you could just go ahead and call my left foot "ogre foot". Anyway, that was my nickname for it.
So I went to Urgent Care, turns out that it was pretty bad. I had a nice infection happening.
The doctor prescribed me some lovely steroids and antibiotics, oh my favorite part,
a nice tetanus shot. My mom was making fun of me, b/c I suddenly turned pretty scared.
I don't like shots. I can handle getting my blood taken, but shots? No, no.
Especially hearing my sister's horror stories from those babies.
One almost passed out, the other threw up.
Turns out it wasn't that bad, but it did hurt. Especially when you could feel the medicine sting &
 spread through your arm. No thanks.
I was told not to walk on it for a couple days, so I've been taking it pretty easy.
I can't complain, but then again, I'm only here for like 3 more days and I can't walk a lot.
Not the most fun I've ever had, but I'm not taking my forced lazy days for granted because
classes start in a week and a half hah.
This is right after I got stung:
The first day after 
I don't think the picture does it justice. It was just so gross and swollen
 And this is me icing it, trying to get it to stop itching. Trust me, I feel like I could just itch it so much that it'll bleed. I wake up in the night itching it like crazy.
Hope you enjoyed my bee-sting story!

Sunday, August 5, 2012

Facebook

Ohhhhh, Facebook.
I remember when I transitioned from Myspace to Facebook.
Actually, I remember begging my parents to let me have a myspace in middle school, & they said no.
When I did get one, I loved it. Then, I started getting sick of it. 
I'd heard of Facebook then, but wasn't interested. I called it the "mormon Myspace".
Why? Because all of the mormon people that weren't allowed to have Myspace reverted to FB.
So, naturally, like everyone else and their mom, I eventually got a FB.
Once again, I loved it.
This was many years ago. Wanna know my feelings now? 
I hate it.
It's stupid, annoying, pointless, and it's a waste of my time.
I know what you're thinking... Why don't I just delete the stupid thing?
Truthfully, I'm afraid I'll lose touch with people, meaning my good friends.
It's hard to always keep in contact when you're busy, I'll be the first to admit I'm horrible at it.
Plus, I'll lose pictures that aren't saved on my computer.
But truly, I just wanna delete it. But. I. Can't.
This probably makes no sense to you, and I can't tell you why I'm posting about it, 
but here I am, posting away.
Maybe it's the people I'm friends with on FB... people I never really talk to in real life.
Their annoying complaining, drama, idiotic comments, and so on.
Honestly, sometimes I wonder if they themselves really believe the things they say on that website.
If I see one more picture of people that are at the "U.S. Open" (surfing competition),
I might just delete it for good.
I'm all about Instagram now, I'll confess. It's simple, just a picture. 
No pointless talking, empty words, telling the media world too many personal things about yourself, etc.
Who knows- odds are I'll probably be saying the same things about Instagram in the future.
By then, I'm sure something new and fresh will have arrived.
My conclusion is that I'll simply just get on FB(a few times) to keep my pictures, or to see my friends.
No more annoying newsfeed of people that I now nothing about, and vice-versa.